Fun Run Friday 3 – Wash Park

Goodness! I have let time get the best of me! This week I had a lovely head cold. Nothing bad: just some sniffles and sinus problems. However I was still feeling weak on Friday and decided that a long run was probably not my best idea for recovery so I didn’t get to go on my Fun Run Friday adventure this week. However I never did post my run review and photos from last week, so I will use my time to update you on that instead!

Last week since I still had to work I didn’t want to go far out of town, so instead I took the middle sister and headed into the heart of downtown Denver. There are two major parks in Denver and we decided to try out the first one I had seen: Washington Park. More commonly referred to as Wash Park by the residents, Washington IMG_2863Park is a 155 acre park located just minutes from the heart of the city. I first heard of the location not just from a family friend, but also because it is where a number of Division II regional races have been held over the years. So of course with my cross county background I just had to go for a run there.

The whole place is absolutely beautiful! Two medium to large sizes ponds sit at either side of the large rectangular park. Beside one is the small Lily Pond, a designated children’s fishing pond. The park consists of two beautiful flower gardens, one of them a replica of George Washington’s garden at Mount Vernon. There are numerous tennis, volleyball, and other recreation fields. There are a number of paths to take through the park, you could do a whole run and probably never step over the same piece of ground twice! I took to running the outer crushed gravel/packed sand loop. It runs along the perimeter of the park and covers a little over 2.5 miles. One of my biggest complaints about running in Denver is that I am always having to run on pavement, so this was a dream getting to run on something a little more forgiving to the legs. My sister walked along the inner paved loop. This loop is split down the middle giving it the typical street look. One lane is reserved for walkers and joggers (the slIMG_2865ow speed people as my sister put it) and the other is reserved for bicyclists and other faster paced park users. We were quite surprised at the number of people we saw roller blading through the park.

I found that Washington Park was definitely worth the visit. There was never a lack of scenery: beautiful million dollar houses across the street, flower gardens, and fantastic lake views. There were a large number of people in the park compared to what I am used to in Georgia, but I never felt like it was over crowed. With the numerous facilities available and the massive amount of acreage everyone is spread around the park and you don’t feel bothered. In fact at some points you feel like you aren’t even in the middle of a large, bustling city. I can’t wait to get back and see a few more of the features within the park and have a little more time to explore.

Leave a Reply

