Fun Run Friday- Weeks 1 & 2

Double post today, well because the post this morning was meant to go out last night but I fell asleep before I got around to proofing and finishing it. So it went out this morning and since it’s Friday I have to post my Fun Run Friday pictures. So you are getting a double dose of me today.

The idea for Fun Run Friday came to me last week. I am desperately trying to stay in shape and since I am surrounded by so many beautiful parks and places to explore there is no point in going on the same monotonous suburban run every day. So I decided that every Friday I am going to choose a place and run there. The list seems to get longer every day, and I cannot wait to explore some of these beautiful place that might as well be right in my backyard.

Fun Run Friday Week 1: Cherry Creek State Park

Last Friday was my first day trying my new adventure, and I was a little hesitant about the whole thing so I decided to start small. About 15 minutes from where we live is Cherry Creek State Park. A beautiful preserve in the heart of Aurora, Colorado. Since entry to the IMG_2840park is $9, I parked at a small rec field across from where I work. Here I was able to catch a trail that ran right into the park. That’s one of the greatest things that the city of Denver and it’s suburbs provide for its residents, there are so many biking and running trails, somewhere between 800 miles that run from city to city and all the way into the heart of Denver. You don’t ever have to run down the side of the road to get somewhere.

Cherry Creek State Park is one of the gems in the heart of a bustling city.  Once you are in it seems like you are out on the prairies. Rolling hills for miles, beautiful flowers, and lots of wildlife. Once in I got off Cherry Creek Trail and took Railroad Bed Tail until it was time to turn around. This trail is a fantastic single person unpaved trail that rCherry Creek State Park with mountainsuns right alongside the main trail in the park. I have run this trail on many occasions and it has quickly become one of my favorites. The only issue I had with it was that one small section was so overgrown with thistle (massive, massive highly thorny plant) that I was forced to jump off and take the pavement for a little while. Definitely a place to check out if you are in the area. Next time I will be parking closer to the reservoir, so that I can get more water scenery for my next run here.

 

Fun Run Friday Week 2 – Red Rocks Amphitheater

IMG_2857This week I decided to drive a little bit further to go somewhere I had never been before. On the other side of the city of Denver, about 45 minutes from where I live, is the city of Morrison. It’s a really quaint and cute city with one giant outdoor concert hall. Some of the top bands have performed here over the years. When it’s not in use for concerts it’s a fitness junkie’s heaven. I was already in awe when I pulled up. The red rocks that gives the venue its name pop against the foothill of the Rocky Mountains. At this point I realized that it was a long uphill just to get to the bottom of the amphitheater which has you out of breath before yIMG_2850ou ever take a step inside. Once there you see that it is pretty packed for 9:30 on a Friday, all people working out: running up the steps, running through the rows, frog jumps, and anything else your mind could dream up. Another post I saw today was absolutely right: “Best free gym ever!” I took to running rows. Run across a row, jump up to the next, and run down that one. All the way to the top covered two miles and then another two miles back to the bottom. I had hoped to do more than four miles, but a dead GPS watch changed that plan. By far my favorite place to run so far. About half way up you start to see over the stage, and you can see for MILES! Absolutely breathtaking, words can’t describe what I saw. Hopefully my pictures will help!

Well that’s it for this week’s fun run! See you again next week – I’ll be going to either Wash Park or City Park right in the heart of downtown Denver.

Leave a Reply

